European Trademarks

European Trademark Registration
In Europe, a trademark may be protected either by filing national trademarks within individual countries, or across the whole of the European Union (EU) by means of a European Union Trade Mark (EU Trade Mark). An EU trademark is a single trademark registration covering all EU Member States at a cost that is much lower than filing separate trademark applications in each Member State. National trade mark systems still operate alongside the EU Trade Mark system. However, if you are trading in more than one EU country, an EU trademark registration is probably the most cost-effective way to protect your mark in one of the most important markets in the world.

A European Union trademark registration is valid for an initial period of 10 years and can be renewed for further 10-year periods.

Current Members of the European Union:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

If you would like further information on any aspect of EU trademarks, please contact us.

Trademarkit LLP is a limited liability partnership registered in England and Wales, registered number OC412199

Disclaimer: The information provided on this website is intended as information only and does not constitute advice. The owners of the website do not guarantee the accuracy of information published on the website. All services are provided subject to our standard Terms of Business